Maintain Certification

Requirements of Maintenance of Certification (MOC)

 Apply for the 2017 MOC Secure Examination January 1, 2017 through April 30, 2017.

A Four-part Process for Continuous Learning

ABAI diplomates must complete all four parts of the MOC process in order to successfully maintain their certification.

  1. Professional Standing:    Medical specialists must hold a valid, unrestricted medical license in at least one state or jurisdiction in the United States, its territories or Canada.
    • Attest to holding such licenses with the ABAI annually. Copy of licenses are required at the time of submission of the MOC Secure Examination Application
  2. Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment:    Physicians participate in educational and self-assessment programs that meet specialty-specific standards that are set by their member board.
  3. Cognitive Expertise:    They demonstrate, through formalized examination, that they have the fundamental, practice-related and practice environment-related knowledge to provide quality care in their specialty.
  4. Practice Assessment/Quality Improvement:    Physicians are evaluated in their clinical practice according to specialty-specific standards for patient care. They are asked to demonstrate that they can assess the quality of care they provide compared to peers and national benchmarks and then apply the best evidence or consensus recommendations to improve that care using follow-up assessments.

This chart illustrates the various requirements of the ABAI MOC program on a year-by-year basis throughout the ten year life of an ABAI certificate. Click on the links to learn more about each requirement.

Timeline of MOC Requirements

  • YR. 1
  • YR. 2
  • YR. 3
  • YR. 4
  • YR. 5
  • YR. 6
  • YR. 7
  • YR. 8
  • YR. 9
  • YR. 10
Part I: Professional Standing
  • Maintain unrestricted medical license throughout cycle
  • Remit Annual MOC fee
  • Update demographic and contact information as required
Part II: Self-Assessment
  • Attest to 25 allergy/immunology CME credits per year
  • Complete 1 Patient Safety Module
  • Complete 1 Communication module

Complete 1 Recent Advances module

Complete 1 Recent Advances module

Part III: Cognitive Expertise

Secure Examination

Part IV: Practice Assessment/ Quality Improvement

Complete 1 Practice Assessment/ Quality Improvement Module:

  • Patient Safety
  • Disease-Specific
  • Procedure-Specific

Complete 1 Practice Assessment/ Quality Improvement Module:

  • Patient Safety
  • Disease-Specific
  • Procedure-Specific
Time Limited Certificate: Year 10 = Certificate Expiration Date Timw Unlimited Certificate: Year 1 = Year agreed to start MOC (2012 or 2013)

Meeting MOC Requirements

As of January 1, 2010, all MOC requirements must be completed on or by December 31st of the year they are due in order to be reported as "Meeting MOC Requirements." Diplomates who have not completed all MOC requirements by the date they are due will be reported as "Not Meeting MOC Requirements." Upon completion of the incomplete requirement(s), the diplomate will be reported as "Meeting MOC Requirements."

To view a complete list of MOC requirements and the timeline to complete them, select the year your certificate expires below.

Please note that participation in the ABAI MOC program is voluntary for diplomates with time-unlimited certificates and it will not affect their certification status.