Volume 2, Issue 1

In This Issue:

ABAI Web Portal

Access and update your personal information.

  1. Register as a first time user.
  2. Update personal information.
  3. Complete annual requirements.
  4. Check 5- and 10-year requirements.
Get started on the Web Portal...

MOC: A Four-Part Process for Continuous Learning

Year 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10
Part I: Professional Standing
  • Maintain unrestricted medical license throughout cycle
  • Remit annual MOC fee
  • Update demographic and contact information as required
Part II: Self-Assessment
  • Complete 25 allergy/immunology CME credits
  • Complete 1 Patient Safety module
  • Complete 1 recent advances module
  • Complete 1 recent advances module
Part III: Cognitive Expertise  
  • Proctored examination
Part IV: Practice Assessment/Quality Improvement
  • Complete 1 communication module
Complete 1 practice assessment/quality improvement module
  • Patient Safety
  • Disease-Specific
  • Procedure-Specific
Complete 1 practice assessment and quality improvement module
  • Patient Safety
  • Disease-Specific
  • Procedure-Specific

ABAI diplomates must complete all four parts of the MOC process in order to successfully maintain their certification.

Professional Standing:

Medical specialists must hold a valid, unrestricted medical license in at least one state or jurisdiction in the United States, its territories or Canada.

Lifelong Learning and Self-Assessment:

Physicians participate in educational and self-assessment programs that meet specialty-specific standards that are set by their member board.

Cognitive Expertise:

They demonstrate, through formalized examination, that they have the fundamental, practice-related and practice environment-related knowledge to provide quality care in their specialty.

Practice Assessment/Quality Improvement:

Physicians are evaluated in their clinical practice according to specialty-specific standards for patient care. They are asked to demonstrate that they can assess the quality of care they provide compared to peers and national benchmarks and then apply the best evidence or consensus recommendations to improve that care using follow-up assessments.

What's New in "Recent Advances?"

A shorter format with only 30 questions, a reference list, CME credits. Find out what else is new for the ABAI Recent Advances module. (read more)

New Dimension for Diplomates to Earn CMEs

ABAI has approved a new MOC program feature that offers an added dimension for ABAI Diplomates to earn MOC Part II Self-Assessment CME credit. (read more)

FAQs - Focus on MOC Participation

What does it mean to be "Participating in MOC?" What happens if I decide not to participate in MOC? View some frequently asked questions about CME credits for the ABAI MOC program. (read more)