News and Publications

ABAI Gives Thanks to Our Departing Directors


2021 marked the 50th anniversary of ABAI and posed many challenges. Leading through it all were the many volunteer Directors and Test Writing Committee (TWC) members. ABAI is a model of professional self-regulation – ABAI is indeed us.

ABAI, diplomates and the profession are indebted to the tireless service of the many volunteers who provide their time, expertise and wisdom, guiding the organization and future of allergy and immunology.

A special thanks to Dr. Luz Fonacier who completed her term as Director, and an extraordinary year as both Chair of the ABAI Board of Directors and President of the American College of Allergy, Asthma & Immunology. Another special note is that 2021 marked the end of term for ABAI's first ever Public Member. For the last six years, Mr. Michael Schwarzman has provided invaluable insight and stewardship advice to the Board; we are forever grateful for his service. In addition, we are grateful that Dr. Len Bacharier has agreed to continue to serve as the ABAI representative on the American Board of Medical Specialties as he closes out his term on the Board, including service as Chair in 2020 during the height of the pandemic.

2022 will undoubtedly bring new challenges; I am confident that our current and incoming volunteers will face them head on led by Dr. Anna Nowak-Wegrzyn as our 2022 Chair of the Board of Directors.

Michael R. Nelson, MD, PhD
President, ABAI

« Back to News Index